COUNCIL ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING, 29 MAY 2020

#### REPORT OF THE

### Chief Executive

#### PART I

#### 1. PROPORTIONALITY AND APPOINTMENTS

1.1. This report concerns various matters relating to political proportionality and appointments to committees and panels which require the approval of the County Council.

#### 2. **POLITICAL PROPORTIONALITY**

2.1. Part 1 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 requires the County Council to review the proportionality of its committees each year at its Annual Meeting. The political composition on the County Council is:

Conservative:	55
Liberal Democrat:	19
Labour:	1
Community Campaign for Hart:	1
Basingstoke & Deane Independent Group:	1
Unaffiliated:	1

2.2. In accordance with Standing Order 24.5 the County Council is asked to review the existing proportionality arrangements and make any changes as appropriate. The draft Proportionality Table (attached at Appendix 1) sets out the proportionality between the political groups on the Council and the seats available to the independent Labour Member and the unaffiliated Member.

#### 3. **APPOINTMENTS**

- 3.1 Standing Order 6.2 requires the County Council, at its Annual Meeting, to appoint a Chairman and Vice Chairman for every committee and standing advisory panel of the County Council until the next Annual Meeting. All Chairmen and Vice-Chairman of Committees must be elected Members of the County Council. The nominations are attached as Appendix 2 to this report.
- 3.2 Standing Order 26 requires the County Council, at its Annual Meeting, to appoint its full quota of eight members to the Hampshire Fire and Rescue Authority. The nominations are as follows:

Councillors Chris Carter (Chairman), Liz Fairhurst, Roz Chadd (Vice-Chairman), Jonathan Glen, Geoff Hockley, Roger Price, David Simpson, Rhydian Vaughan MBE

3.3 At the County Council Meeting held on 12 February 2020, appointments were made to the Shadow Hampshire and Isle of Wight Fire and Rescue Authority until the Annual Meeting of the County Council. The nominations are as follows:

Councillors Chris Carter, Liz Fairhurst, Roz Chadd, Jonathan Glen, Geoff Hockley, Roger Price, David Simpson, Rhydian Vaughan MBE

#### **RECOMMENDATIONS**

That the County Council:

- a) Approves the Proportionality Table at Appendix 1 to the report.
- b) Approves the appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of the County Council's committees and panels at Appendix 2 to the report.
- c) Approves the appointment of the County Council's representatives on the Hampshire Fire and Rescue Authority and Shadow Hampshire and Isle of Wight Fire and Rescue Authority as set out in paragraphs 3.2 and 3.3 of the report.

## **APPENDIX 1**

# County Council Proportionality – 29 May 2020 (DRAFT)

78.00  Seats 14 16 14 16 9 8 9 16	10 11 10 11 6 6 7 11	3 3 4 3 4 2 2 2	1 1 1 1	Labour 1	Unaffiliated 1
Seats 14 16 14 16 9 8 9 16	10 11 10 10 11 6 6	3 4 3 3 4 2 2 2	1 1 1		1
14 16 14 14 16 9 8 9	11 10 10 11 6 6	4 3 3 4 2 2 2	1	1	1
14 16 14 14 16 9 8 9	11 10 10 11 6 6	4 3 3 4 2 2 2	1	1	1
14 16 14 14 16 9 8 9	11 10 10 11 6 6	4 3 3 4 2 2 2	1	1	1
16 14 14 16 9 8 9	11 10 10 11 6 6	4 3 3 4 2 2 2	1	1	1
14 14 16 9 8 9	10 10 11 6 6 7	3 3 4 2 2 2	1	1	1
14 16 9 8 9	10 11 6 6 7	3 4 2 2 2		1	1
9 8 9 16	6 6 7	2 2 2	1	1	1
9 8 9 16	6 6 7	2 2 2		1	1
8 9 16	6	2 2			1
8 9 16	6	2 2			1
9	7	2			
9	7	2			
16	<u>-</u>				
	11	4			
6				1	
6					
	4	2			
0					
9	6	2			1
10	7	3			
9	7	2			
9	6	2	1		
4	3	1			
3	2	1			
10	7	3			
176	124	43	5	2	2
	124.10	42.87	4.51	2.26	2.26
					2
			-	_	0
	<u> </u>	0		<u> </u>	
A		1			
	3	1			
8	_	_			
17	13	4	0	U	0
103	407	47	-		2
193					
	136.09	47.01	4.95	2.47	2.47
	126	<b>⊿</b> 7	5	2	2
					0
	9 9 4 3 10	10 7 9 7 9 6 4 3 3 2 10 7 176 124 124.10 124 0 4 3 8 6 5 4 17 13	10 7 3 9 7 2 9 6 2 4 3 1 10 7 3 176 124 43 124.10 42.87 124 43 0 0 0 0 4 3 1 8 6 2 5 4 1 17 13 4 193 137 47 136.09 47.01	10       7       3         9       7       2         9       6       2       1         4       3       1         3       2       1         10       7       3         176       124       43       5         124.10       42.87       4.51         124       43       5         0       0       0         4       3       1         8       6       2         5       4       1         17       13       4       0         193       137       47       5         136.09       47.01       4.95	10       7       3         9       7       2         9       6       2       1         4       3       1         3       2       1         10       7       3         176       124       43       5       2         124.10       42.87       4.51       2.26         124       43       5       2         0       0       0       0         4       3       1       3         8       6       2       2         5       4       1       1         17       13       4       0       0         193       137       47       5       2         136.09       47.01       4.95       2.47         136       47       5       2

# **COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN AND VICE CHAIRMEN 2020/21**

Committee	Chairman	Vice-Chairman				
Overview and Scrutiny						
Children and Young People Select Committee	Councillor Kirsty North	Councillor Ray Bolton				
Culture and Communities Select Committee	Councillor Anna McNair Scott	Councillor Chris Carter				
Economy, Transport and Environment Select Committee	Councillor Russell Oppenheimer	Councillor Graham Burgess				
Health and Adult Social Care Select Committee	Councillor Roger Huxstep	Councillor David Keast				
Policy and Resources Select Committee	Councillor Jonathan Glen	Councillor Keith Evans				
Committees and Panels						
	Councillor Keith Evans	Councillar Alouis MaFvey				
Audit Committee		Councillor Alexis McEvoy				
Buildings, Land and Procurement Panel	Councillor Stephen Reid	Councillor Bill Withers				
Children and Families Advisory Panel	Councillor David Keast	Councillor Pal Hayre				
Conduct Advisory Panel	Councillor Mark Kemp-Gee	Councillor Keith Evans				
Corporate Parenting Board	Councillor Ann Briggs	Councillor Fran Carpenter				
Education Advisory Panel	Councillor Roz Chadd	Councillor Zilliah Brooks				
Employment in Hampshire County Council Committee	Councillor Stephen Reid	Councillor Keith Evans				
Hampshire Pension Fund Panel and Board	Councillor Mark Kemp-Gee	Councillor Tom Thacker				
Health & Wellbeing Board	Councillor Liz Fairhurst	NB – appointed by the Health & Wellbeing Board				
Regulatory Committee	Councillor Peter Latham	Councillor Lance Quantrill				
River Hamble Harbour Board	Councillor Keith Evans	Councillor Peter Latham				
River Hamble Harbour Management Committee	Councillor Seán D. T. Woodward	Councillor Roger Huxstep				
Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education	Councillor Roy Perry	Councillor Anna McNair Scott				